Deprecated: Non-static method Linkage::usage() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/queensla/public_html/system/plugins/pi.linkage.php on line 10

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /home/queensla/public_html/system/modules/weblog/mod.weblog.php on line 5043
Billy Hill - Queensland History of Racing

Queensland History of Racing

Share |

Billy Hill

The Basics

Categories: Jockeys
Region: South East Queensland


lough neagh, stradbroke handicap, the image

Billy Hill was a tip top money rider for more than 20 years in the 1920s to 30s. Originally from Sydney he moved to Brisbane in 1919 and never looked back. Hill is listed in some journals as winning 10 Brisbane premierships although others say seven. Either way he deserves a place as one of the best hoops to ride in Queensland. In an era when there were only 60 metropolitan meetings a year, Hill rode more than 1000 winners. After retiring, Hill spent many years as a starter in the Brisbane region.

His best winners included the Stradbroke Handicap (Laneffe, Thurles Lad), Brisbane Cup (Impeyan), QTC Derby (Serelot, Valais, Hendra Lad), Doomben Newmarket (The Image), QTC Sires' (Stable Girl), QTC St Leger (Brownfelt), Queensland Cup (Sun King), Queensland Guineas (Chryso), National Plate (Lough Neagh), Hopeful Stakes (Loganius, Natural Pride, St Valeroy, Redcoat, Dazzling), Royal Welcome Stakes (Mount Arthur), Doomben Stakes (Lough Neagh), Albion 500 (St Aubin) and QTC Mile (St Valeroy).


Oops...there aren't any events involving Billy Hill. You can help by contributing.