Deprecated: Non-static method Linkage::usage() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/queensla/public_html/system/plugins/pi.linkage.php on line 10

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /home/queensla/public_html/system/modules/weblog/mod.weblog.php on line 5043
Bruce McLachlan - Queensland History of Racing

Queensland History of Racing

Share |

Bruce McLachlan

The Basics

Categories: Trainers
Region: South East Queensland


al mansour, brisbane trainers' premierships, chortle, our fiction, phelan ready, planet ruler, st. jude, virage de fortune, with me

Bruce McLachlan rates with the very elite in Australian trainers. He holds the Queensland record for most metropolitan (Brisbane) wins at 1253. There are no accurate records for all of his winners but it would be about 3000. He holds the record for most wins in a Brisbane season (77 in 1987/88). McLachlan won at least 117 feature races ranging from Kilcoy and Murwillumbah Cups to the Golden Slipper, Oakleigh Plate and Caulfield Guineas. He has a staggering record in two-year-old features having won at least 40 including the Golden Slipper, three Magic Millions, three QTC Sires'', two T.J. Smith Classics, four Tommy Smith Slippers, three Doomben Slippers, etc.

There is a dispute on how to calculate Group 1 wins but we have him at 17. He won Group 1 races in Brisbane, Sydney and Melbourne and holds the record for most interstate Black Type wins by a Queenslander (living here). He shares the record for most wins at a single Brisbane metropolitan meeting with five and he won 16 Brisbane trainers' premierships.

Just a few of his best horses were Phelan Ready (Golden Slipper, Magic Millions Two-Year-Old Classic), St. Jude (Magic Millions Two-Year-Old Classic, Show Day Cup, Canterbury Guineas, Spring Champion Stakes, BTC Cup), Our Fiction (Magic Millions, VRC Hong Kong Cup), Chortle (QTC Sires'', Caulfield Guineas, Hart Stakes, Doomben Slipper), Planet Ruler (Gadsden Stakes, QTC Guineas, VATC Toorak Handicap), With Me (Oakleigh Plate, Moir Stakes [2], Brambles Classic), Al Mansour (QTC Sires'', Castlemaine Stakes, Doomben Slipper, Emirates Classic, Moir Stakes), Virage de Fortune (QTC Sires'', Schweppes Stakes, Australia Stakes), Picaday (Castlemaine Stakes), Cloud Pink (QTC Guineas), Noble Clubs (Canterbury Cup, Hart Stakes), Crimson Reign (Inglis Classic), Roro (Tommy Smith Slipper), Sublimate (Healy Stakes, Galaxy Stakes), Lots of Rule (BTC Sprint, Healy Stakes), Princess Reichen (XXXX Stakes, Rocket Stakes), Let Me Tell (Tatt's Lightning), Evasion (Queensland Cup), Diego (Queensland Cup), Sublimate (Healy Stakes, AJC Galaxy), Facile (QTC Lightning), Cheval Jazz (Eagers Cup), Jabba Hut (QTC Metropolitan), My Blue Kingdom (Tatt's Mile), Our Blarney Girl (Easter Cup), Rory's Classic (McDougall Stakes), Fixed Flush (Bernborough Handicap, Doomben Stakes, AWA Stakes), Colonel Blimp (Albion Park Cup), Facile Tigre (Ken Russell Memorial), Luminia (Exhibition Handicap), Blondin (Exhibition Handicap), Tactics (Frazer Handicap), Raw Instinct (Caloundra Cup, Tatt's Mile), Dutch Boy (Toowoomba Cup, Easter Cup), Sormani (Black Opal Stakes), Presently (Hall Mark Stakes), Key Bar Nights (Wadley Stakes), Acorns (Meynink Stakes, Freshman Stakes), McGettigan (Murwillumbah Cup), Hula Action (QBBS Classic), God's Prospect (QBBS Classic), Deer Hill (Lord Mayor's Cup), Haig Stakes (Brazen Gambler), and Mackay Cup (Lady Whispers).

Click here to read an article about Bruce's first successes which was published in Racetrack Magazine, October 1979.