Deprecated: Non-static method Linkage::usage() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/queensla/public_html/system/plugins/pi.linkage.php on line 10
Big race doubles-trebles - Queensland History of Racing

Queensland History of Racing

Share |

Big race doubles-trebles


brisbane cup, daybreak lover, doomben 10000, doomben cup, doubles, eye liner, lough neagh, qtc derby, stradbroke handicap, strawberry road, trebles

Fitz Grafton holds the only record in Queensland turf history which surely will never be beaten. He won the 1903 Stradbroke at two years and then took the QTC Derby later that year. Fitz Grafton then won the Brisbane Cup twice in 1904-05.

Tridentate (1892/93 season) is the only other three-year-old to win the QTC Derby and Brisbane Cup double.

The champion all rounder of the 1930s Lough Neagh won a Doomben 10,000 (1934) and a Brisbane Cup (1936).

Three horses have won the AJC-VRC-QTC Derby treble: Tulloch (1957), Royal Sovereign (1964) and Silver Sharpe (1970).

Five horses have won the QTC and AJC Derbies: Tulloch (1957) Persian Lyric (1960), Royal Sovereign (1964), Silver Sharpe (1970) and Strawberry Road (1983).

Four horses have won the Stradbroke-Doomben 10,000 double in the one year: High Rank (1941), Winfreux (1965), Spedito (1975) and Campaign King (1988).

Dance Hero (2004) is the only horse to win the Magic Millions and the Sydney two-year-olds treble (Golden Slipper, AJC Sires, Champagne Stakes). Phelan Ready (2009) completed the Magic Millions Golden Slipper double.

Rough Habit holds the record for the most wins in the one Brisbane Group 1 race winning the Doomben Cup three times (1991-92-93). It was run at weight-for-age on all three occasions.

Earlwood won the Doomben Cup twice when it was a handicap in 1959-60.

Bernborough is the only horse to win the Doomben 10,000 and Doomben Cup in the one year in 1946. My Axeman won the 1983 Doomben 10,000 and finished second in the Doomben Cup.

Winfreux won the Stradbroke and Doomben 10,000 in 1965 and finished second in the Doomben Cup. He returned in 1966 and won the Doomben Cup.

Seven horses have won the famous Stradbroke Handicap twice: Babel (1895-96), Gold Tie (1918-19), Highland (1925-26), Petrol Lager (1934-35), Lucky Ring (1949-50), Daybreak Lover (1984, 1986) and Rough Habit (1991-92).

Five horses have won the Doomben 10,000 twice: Black Onyx (1969-70), Prince Trialia (1990-91), Chief de Beers (1995, 1998), Falvelon (2001-02) and Apache Cat (2008-09).

Five horses have won the Brisbane Cup twice: Fitz Grafton (1904-05), St Valeroy (1932, 1934), Spear Chief (1938-39), Fair Patton (1964-65) and Desert Chill (1995, 1997).

The Queensland Cup is one of the state's oldest races but only four horses have won it twice: Splendide (1892, 1895), Earl Kitchener (1918-19), Soft Step (1933, 1935) and Insecure (1998-99).

Barossa Boy became the first and only horse to date to win the Doomben winter sprint treble (BTC Sprint, BTC Cup and Doomben 10,000) in the one year when he won all three in 1992.

Natural Destiny is the only horse to win the Doomben summer triple crown (George Moore, Lough Neagh and Bernborough Stakes) in 2006.

Grey Affair (1979) and Splendide (1892) are the only two horses to win the Brisbane and Queensland Cups in the one year.

Pittance won the ITC Eye Liner Stakes three times in 2000-01-02.

Related Content

Oops...we haven't got any content related to Big race doubles-trebles. You can help by contributing.

Similar Content

Dick Roden

Dick Roden began as ab anateur jockey before turning to training and eventually winning a Melbourne Cup with Macdougal.

Billy Hill

Billy Hill was a tip top money rider for more than 20 years in the 1920s to 30s and rode over 1000 winners.