Deprecated: Non-static method Linkage::usage() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/queensla/public_html/system/plugins/pi.linkage.php on line 10

Notice: Trying to get property of non-object in /home/queensla/public_html/system/modules/weblog/mod.weblog.php on line 5043
Notable training feats - Queensland History of Racing

Queensland History of Racing

Share |

Notable training feats



JIM MCGILL owned and trained seven Brisbane Cup winners - Sunrise (1877), Proctor (1882), Mozart (1883), Lancer (1885), Lyndhurst (1890) and Fitz Grafton (1904-05).

ERIC KIRWAN trained the winners of six Sires' Produce races. Five were QTC Sires' - Kiwanis (1963), Prince Gauntlet (1967), Heroic Isle (1969), Zephyr Zip (1979) and Star of the Knight (1982). Kirwan also won the 1979 AJC Sires' produce with Zephyr Zip. He also won the Magic Millions Two-Year-Old Classic twice - Sunblazer (1989) and Brave Warrior (1994). Kirwan won the T.J. Smith Classic with Zephyr Zip in 1979. It is estimated Kirwan won about 60 feature two-year-old races.

JIM GRIFFITHS trained the winners of three of the four 'Big Four' in Brisbane in 1975 - Spedito (Stradbroke Handicap and Doomben 10,000) and Golden Khan (Doomben Cup). Griffiths is the only Queensland trainer to train all four as he also won the 1970 Brisbane Cup with Cachondeo.

JIM ATKINS has won at least 43 staying feature races. They include: AJC Oaks (Just Now), Brisbane Cup (Grey Affair), Doomben Cup (Grey Affair), Chipping Norton Stakes (Grey Affair), VRC Turnbull Stakes (Grey Affair), Tulloch Stakes (Prince Ruling), VRC Dalgety (Mr Cromwell), QTC Derby (Intrepid Clipper, Amby's Love, Mr Cromwell), Queensland Cup (Grey Affair, Easy Now), Tattersall's Cup (Rock Show, Buon Giorno), Labour Day Cup (Buon Giorno, Rhalif, Pay The Purple, Just Now), AJC Princess Stakes (Just Now), Manion Cup (Rhalif), Channel 7 Stakes (Just Now), Toowoomba Cup (Amby's Love, Solar Circle), Caloundra Cup (Rock Show, Solar Circle), Exhibition Handicap (Amby's Love [2]), J.H.S. Barnes Plate (Amby's Love), Koomeela Stakes (Dalrello, Belle of Burgundy, Bunkers, Gentle Jim), Lord Mayor's Cup (Sovereign Chief [2]), QTC Moreton Handicap (Grey Affair [2]), Fraser Handicap (Rhalif, Setaria, Grey Affair), Spring Cup (Rhalif), Gold Coast Cup (Amby's Love) and Easter Cup (Grey Colnik, Rock Show). (Note: List contains only big race wins at 2000m or further).

ROY DAWSON won the VRC Oaks-Wakeful Stakes double in 1978 with Scomeld which is the only time it has been achieved by a Queensland trainer.

RON DILLON trained Bore Head to win the 1965 Caulfield Cup.

GREG MANCE was based at the Gold Coast when he trained Cole Diesel to win the 1989 Caulfield Cup.

BRUCE BROWN was the first Queensland-based trainer to train a Golden Slipper winner with Calaway Gal in 2002. (The 1997 winner Guineas came out of John Hawkes stables in Brisbane but Hawkes was a Sydney-based trainer.)

Queensland's BRUCE and JASON MCLACHLAN became the first father-son training combination to win the Golden Slipper with Phelan Ready in 2009. They also combined to win the 2009 Magic Millions 2YO Classic.

DES BURNS trained the first four placegetters at the Dalby Picnics 1985 with Nugget Rush, Bell Khan, Khale May and Royal Change in the Penfolds Ladies Bangle.

WILLIAM NOUD trained the winners of the Queensland Guineas five times - Gratton (1901), Flaxen (1908), Koatanui (1912), Mountain Song (1924) and High Syce (1927).

TOMMY DAWSON trained the winners of five Goldmarket Handicaps. Charlton Boy (1973-74), Ima Shadow (1975), Lord Diere (1980) and Princess Tiber (1985).

DARYL STRONG trained the Goldmarket winner four times. Blue's Finito (1976-77), Grand Series (1982) and Going Broke (1983).

PAT LEE trained the winner of four Toowoomba Cups - Navleigh (1956-57-58) and Dawn Arrival (1975).

JOHN WALLACE trained the winners of the Toowoomba Cup four times - Caper Sauce (1971), Prince of Persia (1976) and Distancia 1986-87.

DIANNE AYRES was the first woman to train a feature race winner in Queensland with Dimitri in the 1976 Queensland Cup.

BILL TUCKER trained the winners of six Brisbane Cups – Venerable 1916, Deremathis 1919, Girchka 1922, Seremite 1923, Spear Chief 1938-39.

GEORGE BENN trained the winners of four QTC Sires' Produce Stakes – Thurlow 1954, Malarno 1955, Refulgent 1960, Todwana 1964.

BART SINCLAIR trained the winners of four Exhibition Handicaps - Mullala 1962, Oxford King 1964-65-66. He also won the Ascot Handicap twice with Bindana in 1961 and Oxford King in 1964. Mullala won the feature Sandgate Handicap in 1962 and Lucky Rock won the 1966 Show Handicap giving him eight EKKA carnival feature winners in five years.

FRED BEST won the Hopeful-Meynink Stakes five times - Ruperion, Kiama Prince, Sir Shah, Bengalla Lad and Vain's Best.

JOHN HAWKES won the Queensland Derby four times - Tenor (1994), Dodge (1998), Freemason (2000) and Toulouse Leutrec (2004).

FRED BEST won the Queensland Guineas four times - Book Link (1955), Persian king (196), Flyign Ace (1968) and Spinelli (1974).

REX LIPP won the Toowoomba Cup four times - Gene's Interest (1999), Director's Special (2000), Sir Sensible (2008) and Jussemi (2009).

Related Content

Oops...we haven't got any content related to Notable training feats. You can help by contributing.

Similar Content

Oops...we couldn't find any content similar to Notable training feats. You can help by contributing.